Toyota Wins Multiple IIHS “Top Safety Picks” Awards

Posted Friday, Dec 26, 2014 by nhtwpprod

At North Hollywood Toyota, we’re proud to be a Los Angeles car dealer that provides its customers with safe, reliable cars that will work for them for years to come. We know that our new and used Toyotas are some of the safest on the road, and this year the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) agreed, awarding multiple Toyota models with its top safety honors for 2015.

IIHS Top Safety Picks

IIHS conducts safety tests on every vehicle released in a given year, and then hands out awards depending on how those cars perform in multiple categories. Areas that the IIHS test for include how well vehicles protect their occupants during a crash, front crash prevention measures, and driver warning systems.

After the cars are tested, those that test well are given one of two awards: the Top Safety Pick, or the Top Safety Pick+. In order to win the Top Safety Pick award, a vehicle has to earn good ratings during safety tests involving the front, side, roof, and head restraints. In order to win Top Safety Pick+, a vehicle must win advanced or superior front-end crash prevention ratings, as well as meeting all Top Safety Pick criteria.

Vehicles of all sizes, makes, and models are tested, and the safety awards are categorized by vehicle size and weight. The categories are:

  • Mini cars
  • Small cars
  • Midsize moderately priced cars
  • Midsize luxury/near luxury cars
  • Large family cars
  • Large luxury cars
  • Small SUVs
  • Midsize SUVs
  • Midsize Luxury SUVs
  • Minivans

The vehicles are given Top Safety Pick or Top Safety Pick+ awards in each category tested for being the safest of all cars in their category. Because weight and size can affect how much damage cars take in a collision, larger category cars tend to test higher than smaller ones do. Still, small category cars that win safety awards have to pass the same stringent safety tests, and those that win can be trusted to be safer than their counterparts that did not.

2015 Toyota Top Safety Pick Winners

When the 2015 IIHS Top Safety Pick winners were announced, they included Toyotas in several categories. Nine Toyota models were recognized, and the Prius V in particular was singled out for its improved safety performance.

According to IIHS, the Toyotas to win a 2015 Top Safety Pick+ rating were:

  • 2015 Toyota Prius (Small cars)
  • 2015 Toyota Camry (Midsized moderately priced cars)
  • 2015 Toyota Prius V (Midsized moderately priced cars)
  • 2015 Toyota Highlander (Midsized SUVs)
  • 2015 Toyota Sienna (Minivans)

The Toyotas to be awarded 2015 Top Safety Pick were:

  • 2015 Toyota Avalon (Large family cars)
  • 2015 Toyota RAV4 (Small SUVs)

When a car wins Top Safety Pick, it is a sure sign that that vehicle is one of the best choices on the market for keeping you and your family safe. Toyota has a proud history of being honored by the IIHS, and that tradition has continued on into 2015. When you shop for a new Los Angeles Toyota, you will have many award-winning models to choose from. Speak with one of our salespeople today at (800) 800-6730, or come visit us at one of our Southern California locations to learn more.